Nominations for President Elect and Vice President
extended to 26 July
05 July 2019

Dear SAAFoST Member,

Call for Nominations for President Elect and Vice President

The closing date for nominations for President Elect and Vice President has been extended to 26 July 2019. The SAAFoST Council made this decision due to the prematurely early closing dates in a previous notice and lack of regular reminders, resulting in reduced participation by and concerns from members. The names of those already nominated remain valid and will go forward into the election. The notice below has been updated accordingly to facilitate the extended nomination process. Please make sure your nominations reach the Secretariat by 26 July 2019.

Nomination of Office Bearers

Any Voting Member in good standing may nominate these candidates and is entitled to vote in a subsequent ballot should one be necessary. This notice is being sent to Voting Members only, therefore anyone receiving this letter, via his/her personal e-mail address and receiving it directly from the SAAFoST National Secretary, is entitled to nominate now and participate in the ballot that will follow later.

Procedure & Eligibility

If you would like to nominate someone for either or both of these positions, please make use of the nomination form that is available here: Click or from the SAAFoST National Secretary. The form must be signed by those nominated to the effect that they accept the nomination - please print and scan as necessary. Candidates for these positions must be SAAFoST Professional Members or Honorary Life Members - see who is eligible by referring to this list: Click. Seconders of the nominations must be SAAFoST Voting Members - a list of whom can be viewed here: Click.
Curricula vitae must please accompany all nominations.

Closing Date and Addresses for Nomination Forms

Nominations for the new officials close on Friday 26 July 2019 at 17:00, after which a national ballot will take place. Please have the nomination form completed and forward it to the SAAFoST National Secretary - preferably by e-mail ( but also by fax (086 664 4764) or by post (not recommended!) to: The SAAFoST National Secretary, P O Box 4507, Durban. 4000.

Current SAAFoST Presidents

The current SAAFoST President is Prof Lucia Anelich, the current Vice President is Anza Bester. Both terms of office end during the SAAFoST Congress in September 2019. The current President Elect is James McLean, who will become SAAFoST President during the Congress.

SAAFoST President Stature

The role of the President of an organization with the stature of SAAFoST, is one of great prestige but also one of great responsibility as his/her role is to lead the Association, and speak nationally and internationally on its behalf. The President is also a peer amongst the leaders in food science and technology of other countries and as such, needs to be conversant in food science and technology and well versed in the management and history of SAAFoST by, for example, having served on a Branch committee and on the SAAFoST Council, which is the governing body of SAAFoST.

The SAAFoST Council

Current SAAFoST Council Members are: Prof Lucia Anelich (President), James McLean (President Elect & Treasurer), Anza Bester (Vice President), Ingrid Woodrow (Northern Branch Chair), Thapelo Mashego (KZN Branch Chair), Melanie Naidoo (Acting Cape Branch Chair), Dr Gerda Botha (SACNASP Representative), Catherine Chisindi, Madelein Jansen, Prof Gunnar Sigge, Owen Frisby (Ex-officio, Executive Director).

SAAFoST National Secretariat
Durban 05 July 2019

Click here for the nomination form